MotoGP rider Marc Marquez wins a SIXTH BMW M car for qualifying success

Another year, another top qualifying performance in MotoGP, and another brand new car for Marc Marquez: this time, it's a BMW M3 CS

MotoGP's Marc Marquez and his new BMW M3 CSMotoGP World Champion Marc Marquez has taken delivery of another BMW M car after once again being the fastest qualifier in MotoGP 2018.

This year’s BMW M Award is an M3 CS, and makes it six times in a row that Marquez has picked up a new BMW M car for being top qualifier.

Marquez first won the BMW M Award in 2013, becoming the first rookie to take the prize car. And he hasn’t stopped since.

MotoGP's Marc Marquez wins a BMW M3 CS

“I can hardly believe that I have won the BMW M Award for the sixth time running,” he said during the handover ceremony.

“I want to thank BMW M GmbH… this shows special appreciation for us as MotoGP riders. The prospect of winning this prize provides even more motivation for us.”

BMW has been the official car of MotoGP for 20 years and has handed out the top qualifier prize car for 16 of them.

MotoGP's Marc Marquez wins a BMW M3 CS

“There are hardly enough superlatives to describe Marc Marquez,” said BMW M GmbH president Markus Flasch. “The fact he has now won the BMW M Award for the sixth time running is more than just impressive… Marc has made history again.

“The prize is a token of our appreciation for his outstanding performance.”

How does the MotoGP BMW M Award work?

MotoGP riders get points for their performance in races, but also clock them up for qualifying performances.

Riders get 25 points for pole, 20 points for second, and so on: they’re awarded in the same way as race points.

Marquez is way ahead in the all-time rankings, but Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner have each received three BMW M cars for qualifying speed.

Jorge Lorenzo has won two BMW M cars, with Sete Gibernau and the late Nicky Hayden taking one M car each.

Read more:

Related Articles

Richard Aucock
Richard is director at Motoring Research. He has been with us since 2001, and has been a motoring journalist even longer. He won the IMCO Motoring Writer of the Future Award in 1996 and the acclaimed Sir William Lyons Award in 1998. Both awards are run by the Guild of Motoring Writers and Richard is currently chairman of the world's largest organisation for automotive media professionals. Richard is also a juror for World Car Awards and the UK juror for the AUTOBEST awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


How to secure your car with an OBD port locking device

Criminals are consistently using high-tech equipment to steal cars. This is how to stop your On-Board Diagnostics port being exploited.

How to move over safely for emergency vehicles

Driving with blue lights gives the emergency services exemption from certain parts of the Highway Code. We explain the rules.

‘Shocking’ rise in drivers caught speeding during lockdown

Government data released today shows that the first lockdown led to a ‘shocking’ rise in the number of drivers exceeding the speed limit.

Polestar 1 (2020) review

The Polestar 1 is a 600hp carbon-bodied plug-in hybrid designed to get this new brand noticed. Are you paying attention yet?

Find a Car Review