Apple has announced a feature which will automatically block all notifications when you’re driving – and can even text your friends to tell them you’re busy.
Revealed at Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) in California, the Do Not Disturb While Driving feature monitors the speed you’re travelling at and whether it’s connected to a car’s infotainment system to determine whether you’re at the wheel.
More Apple news on Motoring Research:
- Apple patents tech to stop texting while driving
- The top 40 cars available with Apple CarPlay in the UK
- Apple Watch a risk to safe driving warns road safety charity
If it thinks you’re driving, all notifications will be temporarily blocked and an automatic response – already set up in your settings – will be sent to anyone who texts during this time. If that person really needs to get through to you, they can respond to the auto-response with the word ‘urgent’ and a one-off notification will be allowed through.
Naturally, it’s difficult for the iPhone to tell if its owner is driving or just a passenger in a car. It’s possible for the mode to over overruled by pressing an ‘I’m not driving’ button.
The feature will be rolled out across all iPhones with the iOS 11 operating system when it arrives later this year.
It follows a number of cases in North America where motorists injured in crashes caused by distracted drivers have filed law suits against Apple.