Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy Calendar announced

Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy electric race series calendar announced

Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy Calendar announced

Details for the inaugural Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy have been announced, with 10 races set to take place in nine different cities.

Created as an official support race for the FIA Formula E Championship, the eTrophy will pit a grid of up to 20 identical production-based Jaguar I-Pace EV racers against each other.

The first round will get underway on the 15th December, with competitors taking to a street circuit in the Saudi Arabian city of Ad Diriyah. Further rounds will take in Europe, Asia, and the Americas, before a season finale in New York City.

Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy Calendar announced

Races in the I-Pace eTrophy will last for 25 minutes, plus one lap, giving drivers and fans plenty of time for action on track. Taking place before the Formula E main event, the eTrophy is intended to highlight emerging young talent, and show that electric cars are anything but boring.

Each round of the calendar will also see a VIP driver added to the grid. Jaguar hopes to attract famous faces from the world of motorsport, and further afield, to enter the fray.

Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy Calendar announced

The eTrophy has the makings of a potentially dramatic race series. With 20 equal cars on narrow street circuits, the competition should be close. Hopefully Jaguar has produced plenty of spare body panels in anticipation. A prize fund exceeding £500,000 ($650,000) for the season should offer additional motivation.

Entrants will receive their specially prepared I-Pace race car later this month, with a special test day at the Silverstone race circuit. After that, the drivers will have several weeks to prepare themselves for the opening round of the championship.

2018-2019 Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy calendar

1Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia15 December 2018
2Mexico City, Mexico16 February 2019
3Hong Kong10 March 2019
4Sanya, China23 March 2019
5Rome, Italy13 April 2019
6Paris, France27 April 2019
7Monaco11 May 2019
8Berlin, Germany25 May 2019
9New York City, USA13 July 2019
10New York City, USA14 July 2019