Volkswagen WRC manufacturer's title victory

Volkswagen Polo R wins WRC title for second year in a row

Volkswagen WRC manufacturer's title victoryVolkswagen has scooped the WRC manufacturer’s title with the Polo R WRC for the second year running – the earliest point in a World Rally Championship seasons that the title has been secured in a quarter of a century.

Indeed, such has been Volkswagen’s dominance in 2014, it won the title with a podium lockout: Polo R WRC drivers finished, first, second and third in this weekend’s Rally Australia.

This time round, it was Sebastien Ogier that triumphed, ahead of team mate Jari-Matti Latvala. They’ll now fight it out for the driver’s championship with three rounds remaining; upcoming third driver Andreas Mikkelsen will watch with interest.

A naturally ecstatic Jost Capito, Volkswagen Motorsport Director, said: “What a way to put the icing on the cake at the end of such an impressive season!

“Winning the Manufacturers’ title with a one-two-three – it doesn’t get any better.”

Impressively, the one-two-three was the first in Volkswagen’s WRC history – and it was the Polo R WRC’s 19th victory in 23 outings. Yes, Volkswagen has quite comprehensively dominated WRC since it entered in 2013.

The team has now won nine of the 10 WRC rounds held so far in 2014, six of them one-twos. That sort of dominance is how it has wrapped up the WRC manufacturer’s title earlier than all but one other team in the history of the championship.

With three rounds left in France, Spain and Great Britain, Volkswagen now looks set to beat its 2013 record of the biggest winning margin in the history of the WRC. Question is, can anyone stop them?


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *