Vauxhall Astra SCOTY 2015

Vauxhall Astra is Scot­tish Car of the Year 2015

Vauxhall Astra SCOTY 2015The new Vauxhall Astra has been awarded Scottish Car of the Year 2015 by the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers in a big night for the British car brand.

Not only did the Astra win the overall SCOTY gong, it also scooped the Family Car of the Year and Eco Car of the Year awards – and the Vauxhall Viva was also made Scotland’s Compact Car of the Year.

Read more:

Vauxhall Astra review: 2015 first drive

6 ways the new Vauxhall Astra could beat the Ford Focus

Vauxhall: we do NOT cheat emissions tests

Alisdair Suttie, President of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers, said: “2015 has been an amazing year for new cars and made the judges’ decisions harder than ever, so it is all credit to Vauxhall that its new Astra has won out.

“The Astra sets new standards with the way it drives, its efficiency and the quality of its construction and materials. Not only is it a pleasure to drive, it’s also a resounding endorsement of British workmanship.”

Leon Caruso, Vauxhall’s retail sales director, was a happy man: “Winning the overall SCOTY gives us a huge boost and our retailers in the region will be delighted with the additional success I am sure this will bring to these cars.”

SCOTY 2015 winners

Other brands were celebrating after a successful night in Scotland: Mazda won three category awards with the Mazda 2, MX-5 and CX-3 all winning category awards.

There were several more British-built cars picking up prizes in Scotland: Jaguar’s new XE was made best executive car, the Land Rover Discovery Sport was best diesel car and the Honda Civic Type R was Scotland’s favourite hot hatch of the year.

In a surprise award scoop for the venerable and soon-to-retire 4×4, the Land Rover Defender was also awarded best Used Car of the Year.

Dieselgate may have stopped Volkswagen winning any category prizes, but VW Group cars were still winners: the Audi TT was Scotland’s favourite coupe and the Skoda Super Estate was its best load-lugger.

SCOTY Hall of Fame

  • 1998: Ford Focus
  • 1999: Jaguar S-Type
  • 2000: Audi A2
  • 2001: Jaguar X-Type
  • 2002: Mazda 6
  • 2003: Volvo XC90
  • 2004: Peugeot 407
  • 2005: BMW 3 Series
  • 2006: Jaguar XK
  • 2007: Ford Mondeo
  • 2008: Ford Fiesta
  • 2009: Land Rover Discovery 4
  • 2010: Kia Sportage
  • 2011: Range Rover Evoque
  • 2012: Dacia Duster
  • 2013: Volkswagen Golf
  • 2014: Hyundai i10
  • 2015: Vauxhall Astra
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *