What the new MOT test changes mean for you and your car

Major new MOT rules already causing confusion

What the new MOT test changes mean for you and your car

Changes being made to the MOT test are already causing confusion before they have been introduced, according to research conducted by the RAC.

While the new test will still produce a simple ‘pass’ or ‘fail’ outcome, the government has introduced new fault subcategories, which are leaving some motorists scratching their heads.

There are three fault categories, two of which result in a failed MOT test: ‘dangerous’ and ‘major’. The other – known as ‘minor’ – replaces the existing advisories and will result in a pass. And this is resulting in minor confusions, says the RAC.

Of the 1,866 motorists questioned by the RAC, 49 percent were most confused by the new ‘minor’ fault category, thinking that it would lead to an MOT fail when it is actually a ‘pass with defects’ that need to be remedied as soon as possible.

More worryingly, 5 percent of respondents thought a vehicle with a ‘dangerous’ fault would pass the test, while 6 percent believed the same of a ‘major’ fault – both are ‘fails’ and require immediate repairs, with a ‘dangerous’ fail leading to an additional ‘do not drive until repaired’ caveat.

Land of confusion

While supportive of the changes, the RAC is concerned about the apparent confusion and potential inconsistencies in the way the new categories are interpreted and applied around the country. RAC spokesman, Simon Williams, said: “It is important everyone quickly gets to grips with the changes to the MOT, and that test centres and garages do a good job of explaining the new fault categories so motorists understand correctly the severity of faults with their vehicles.

“Changes to the MOT that make vehicles using our roads safer are undoubtedly a positive step so we hope that testers everywhere interpret and apply the new rules fairly and consistently. The last thing we want to see is a lowering of MOT standards and an increase in the number of unroadworthy vehicles on our roads.

The changes come into force on Sunday 20 May 2018. For more information on what the new MOT test changes mean for you and your car, check out our brief guide.

Read more:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *