BMW M Award Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez wins another BMW M car

BMW M Award Marc MarquezMotoGP star Marc Marquez has scooped this year’s BMW M Award for best qualifier with a total of eight pole positions – and driven away in yet another BMW M car for his efforts.

This year, he’s won an M6 Convertible in BMW Individual Frozen Blue Metallic; it’s a procedure he’s now quite familiar with.

That’s because Marquez also won the BMW M Award last year, winning a BMW M4 Coupe for his efforts.

And he also won it in 2013. The prize then? A BMW M6 Coupe.

Naturally, he’s rather pleased. “I am really happy to have won the BMW M Award for third time in a row,” said Marquez at the prize-giving ceremony in Valencia. “For us riders, this award is always something special.

“The fact that it is the BMW M6 Convertible makes this prize even more special. It is the first time that I won a convertible car and for me living in Spain, this is just perfect.” Well, quite.

This year is the 13th time BMW has presented the M Award, one that is “highly coveted by the MotoGP riders,” said BMW M boss Frank van Meel.

How does it work? During the MotoGP weekend, points are awarded for qualifying positions, just like they are in the race. Pole gets 25 points, second gets 20 points, 3rd gets 16, down to one point for 15ht.

“Marc Marquez, Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner are the current record holders, each with three BMW M Awards to their name,” says BMW, “with Marquez being the only rider who has won three times in a row.

“His Spanish compatriot Jorge Lorenzo has earned the coveted title of top qualifier twice so far. Sete Gibernau and Nicky Hayden have both won the BMW M Award once.”

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *