Jaguar test driver Norman Dewis awarded OBE in New Year Honours

Jaguar’s legendary test driver Norman Dewis has been awarded an OBE as part of the Queen’s New Year Honours.

The 94-year-old worked as Jaguar’s chief test development engineer for over 30 years, from 1952 to 1985, and is credited with being one of the lead developers of the disc brake as we know it today.

Dewis worked with Dunlop on fitting disc brakes to the C-Type, helping it win the 24 hours of Le Mans in 1953 (with further victories following in 1955, 1956 and 1957).

Previously, Dewis paired with Stirling Moss to test the new brakes in the 1952 Mille Miglia. The duo were on course for a second or third place finish, but retired close to the end.

He was also responsible for signing off all of Jaguar’s road cars, including the legendary E-Type, up until the 1986 Jaguar XJ40.

In 1971 Dewis was filming at MIRA with the one-off V12 XJ13 Le Mans prototype, when a wheel fell off at an estimated 150mph. It rolled several times, but the driver walked away without any serious injuries.

Former CEO of Millbrook proving ground Miguel Fragoso has also been awarded an OBE for services to the UK automotive industry.

Fragoso joined Lotus in September 2014 as engineering director, and previously worked for Vauxhall.

For services to road safety, chief executive at the Motor Insurers’ Bureau (MIB) Ashton West has also received an OBE.