Euro NCAP Alfa Romeo Giulia 2016

Five Euro NCAP stars for three new cars thanks to autonomous tech

Euro NCAP Alfa Romeo Giulia 2016Alfa Romeo, SEAT and Volkswagen have all been awarded five stars for their latest new cars in the latest round of Euro NCAP testing – thanks to generously including latest-generation safety equipment as standard across the range.

The new Alfa Romeo Giulia (pictured above), SEAT Ateca and Volkswagen Tiguan have all been awarded five stars, with Euro NCAP not having to issue Dual Ratings this time round because all three cars are so well-equipped with safety kit as standard.

Since the start of 2016, Euro NCAP has run the Dual Rating system: a ‘stars’ score is given for standard models in the range, with an additional one for those fitted with optional safety equipment packages.

This means that volume cars can score fewer stars than those with optional kit added on, a slightly confusing situation that’s pleasingly not an issue with these three cars because they have all the important safety stuff as standard.

A key piece of technology is AEB Autonomous Emergency Braking, says Euro NCAP, which helps mitigate the impact of low-speed collisions, or even avoid them entirely. Euro NCAP (and its umbrella group, Global NCAP) would ideally like to see it fitted to all new cars as standard.

Euro NCAP secretary general Michiel van Ratingen said: “Euro NCAP shows what can be achieved when governments, consumer groups and motoring clubs from across Europe collaborate. Together, we can exert an influence on the car industry that would be hard to achieve otherwise.

“We are glad to see some of the major manufactures making safety equipment standard across the EU28, although we know that markets outside the Eurozone are sometimes less well served.”

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *